Hale Navy by Benjamin Moore Colour Review

Picking a Paint Colour?

Choose the right paint colour
the first time Let me show you how in just 5 easy steps!
BONUS: The Top 15 Shades of Gray by Benjamin Moore

We value your privacy. We will never share or sell your information.
Hale Navy by Benjamin Moore Colour Review

Hale Navy, HC-154, by Benjamin Moore is one of my absolute FAVOURITE colours for interior design and decor!

This week in Episode #3 of my paint colour reviews, I am super excited to share more details about this colour and a couple of client projects where I’ve used this sumptuous colour.

LET ME SHOW YOU:

  • Colour Comparisons to Hale Navy
  • Best Whites for Ceilings, Doors and Trim to pair with this dramatic and moody colour
  • Fabulous Colour Combinations
  • My Favourite Applications of Where To Use Hale Navy In Interior Design

Are you ready? Let’s do this!

Before we dive into Hale Navy on the blog…

I’m super excited to announce the release of my new Essential Colour Guides!

Essential Colour Guide Graphic
Essential Colour Guides –shop here now

The choices one has for paint colours are infinite.  Selecting the best colour for your home and then choosing additional colours to compliment it is a daunting task, but it doesn’t need to be anymore.

My Essential Colour Guides are an incredibly helpful tool for homeowners and designers alike. Click here to learn more about what every 4 page PDF download  includes.

We are adding new colours all the time so be sure to check back often! Hale Navy was one of the first Colour Guides we created as it’s such a hugely popular colour.

Alright, back to the Colour Review of:

Hale Navy HC-154 by Benjamin Moore

Hale Navy HC154 Benjamin Moore
Hale Navy HC154 Benjamin Moore

Colour Comparisons:

Forgive my tattered large colour boards, they have been very well used!

Below you can see comparisons between Black Pepper2130-40 on the far right and Flint AF-560 to the left. Both colours are a blue- gray with Black Pepper being lighter and more blue that the Flint.

From left to righ: Flint AF 560 Hale Navy & Black Pepper 2130-40
From left to right: Flint AF 560,  Hale Navy & Black Pepper 2130-40  All colours are from Benjamin Moore.
Flint & Hale Navy & Black Pepper Comparison

See these three paint colours used in different designs that I did below.

Dining room with Hale Navy niche and ceiling. Photo by Stephani Buchman.

I used Black Pepper in one of my most exciting and largest projects to date!  The image below shows our clients secret Xbox room with this blue gray colour on the ceiling. The walls are an even lighter blue gray tone, painted in Boothbay Gray by BM.

Secret Xbox room, walls Black Pepper by BM.Photo by Stephani Buchman
Graffiti wall and shag rug with blue velvet couch
Graffiti wall and shag rug with blue velvet couch

To check out that incredible 3000 square foot contemporary basement design, click here.

As I mentioned in my Hale Navy colour review video, here’s my own living room (shown below) painted Flint by BM. You can see how much darker it is and also, how much more gray it is when compared to Hale Navy.

Living Room Painted Flint by Benjamin Moore. Click here to see more of my house.

Best White Paint Colours

So many whites work well with this sensuous dark blue tone. You’ll see below how you can use it with either a creamy white or a more crisp white depending on the direction you wish to go and, of course, being guided by the fixed elements within the space.

Hale Navy with White Dove. Both Benjamin Moore Colours.
Hale Navy & White Dove

White Dove, OC-17, is a creamy white. This white works wonderfully with Hale Navy, offering a soft, yet rich feel. Check out my colour review of White Dove in this post.

Colour combination of White Dove with Hale Navy by Benjamin Moore.

Here are some other great whites you can use for ceiling and trim in your next interior design project with Hale Navy:

Cloud White CC-40 by Benjamin Moore
Hale Navy & Cloud White
Simply White OC-117 by Benjamin Moore
Hale Navy & Simply White

For a more crisp pairing, you can use Chantilly Lace OC-65 or White Diamond OC-61, of which the latter has a slight blue undertone.

FABULOUS COLOUR COMBINATIONS

Creating striking colour palettes with Hale Navy is limitless really.

Think about it, what doesn’t go with dark blue jeans???  That’s what’s so great about dark blues like this, they can essentially work with pretty much any colour.

Hale Navy and Fawn Brindle SW 7640 by Sherwin Williams
Hale Navy & Fawn Brindle
Gray Wisp CC-670 by BM with Hale Navy
Hale Navy & Gray Wisp

Here’s a couple of gorgeous paint colour palettes…

Hale Navy with Sea Salt SW 6204 by Sherwin Williams
Listed paint colours shown here with this beautiful geode patterned fabric
Hale Nav HC-154, Sea Salt SW 6204, Early Morning CC-818 & Montpelier AF-555

Hale Navy with Classic Gray OC-23 is a sumptuous pairing that we used in a clients exquisite living room re-design shown here.

See more of this clients living room here. Photos by Stephani Buchman.

On a side note, can you guess what that large black square is above those fabulous patterned chairs & stainless steel fireplace?

It’s a water fountain feature!!

Before my clients hired me, this stuck out so much that this ‘black square’ was the focal point of the room. By painting the wall Hale Navy & adding some beautifully patterned chairs in front of the stainless steel fireplace, the frame of the fountain was less ‘in your face’ and not so much the focus of the room. Here’s a before…

Here’s the before photo

Okay, I digress. Back to paint colour combinations with Hale Navy.

When decorating a space, in order to have flow, you need to repeat some key colours from room to room.

For example, in our clients dining room where we painted the niche wall & ceiling Hale Navy, we repeated the dark blue in the accent pillows and the custom window seat.  See the full portfolio of this stunning project here.

Custom bench seat with soft accents in dark blue tones.

This colour palette graphic shows you how flawlessly all these hues look together.

White Dove and Hale Navy pairs nicely with Classic Gray and Sea Haze..
White Dove and Hale Navy pairs nicely with Classic Gray and Sea Haze.
Hale Navy & White Dove & Sea Haze & Classic Gray

HAVE YOU USED HALE NAVY OR WOULD YOU USE THIS COLOUR IN YOUR HOME?  COMMENT BELOW TO LET ME KNOW.

Here’s a video where I share much more about the thought process behind the design for my Toronto clients living and dining room.

My Favourite Places to Use Hale Navy

As you can see from the professional photography of my work, I love using Hale Navy as an accent wall or for a bold ceiling. We are also finishing up another clients dining room where we used this dark blue on all the walls and it really is striking and dramatic.

I also ADORE Hale Navy for cabinetry in kitchens, bathrooms or on an antique piece of furniture.  And did I mention that I love to see it on other millwork such as wainscoting and stairs?

To see some of my favourite inspirational photos, check out my Pinterest board ‘Best Navy & Dark Blue Paint Colours’ here.

My Hale Navy Essential Colour Guide is a great resource. You’ll have all the info right at your fingertips plus more gorgeous colour combinations.

Remember, it only takes one mistake to take your home decorating project from divine to disaster. Don’t let the paint be what stresses you out!

More colours are being added to the library and we now have over 30 for you to select from.

Essential Colour Guide Graphic

Not sure where to start?? Take my colour quiz and find out which palette best suits you and your style.

Paint Colour Quiz 2

Where to Get My Large Painted Colour Boards

Love my large painted colour boards and want your own set?

Painted colour boards Benjamin Moore Core Collection
Painted colour boards Benjamin Moore Core Collection – get your own set here now

Click here to shop these fabulous large colour boards now!

// DISCLOSURE: Thank you for trusting me with my truthful and reliable opinion on any future purchase you may make. I always disclose affiliate or sponsored information when it is the case. If you purchase Maria’s boards, I will earn a small commission from the sale. This doesn’t affect you in any way, the price remains the same regardless.  Thank you for supporting me and entrusting me to be your go-to for all things Colour and Interior Design!

 I LOVE HEARING FROM YOU!

If you’ve used a paint colour that I’ve reviewed or you;  want to ask a question: or even if you have a different point of view to mine, please do share with us here.

For colour advice, please note that I can’t always give advice based on simply reading about a scenario.  If it were that easy for me to recommend the perfect paint hue, without knowing more about the specific space; the lighting situation; what other fixed elements to consider etc, then I really would be even more magical than I already am. HAHA!

Nine times out of ten, I will always recommend that you either seek advice from a local Colour Professional or I might be able to hook you up with an online colour consultation.

Contact me here to see how I can help you transform your home.

Until then, follow me on Pinterest to see more colour combinations and inspiration for your home. See you there!

(42) Comments
  • Vella Ashley
    | 9 January 2019

    Hi I did my studio condo in Palm beach in hale navy,dove white trim and ceiling. Love it. What do you think of coral gable for the bath.

  • Dana Brown
    | 25 February 2019

    I really liked this because I’ve been struggling with painting my craftsman exterior with SW Indigo Batik.
    When I saw Hale, I fell in love with that.
    So when I put the two together, and found your video, it instantly made up my mind.
    Thank you for sharing.:))))

    • Claire Jefford
      | 26 February 2019

      So great to hear this Dana! How fabulous this will be on an exterior. Cheers for your comment!

    • Katie Milligan
      | 29 May 2019

      Hi Dana,

      I am also struggling with what to do my craftsman interior in! Hale navy is currently the front runner. Do you happen to have a pic of your house? (if it’s finished!)

      Thanks,
      Katie

      • Claire Jefford
        | 4 June 2019

        Hi Katie, Claire here. Although I haven’t got a photo from a project where I’ve used Hale Navy on the exterior, have a look on Pinterest and search ‘Hale Navy Exteriors’. That’s where I found this picture –> https://www.pinterest.ca/pin/403705554092052549/ There will be lots of photo results in the search. I love it on exteriors!

  • Tracy Greene
    | 9 March 2019

    We’re waiting for primer to dry and then will paint our IKEA bookcases Hale Navy. Walls are Revere Pewter. If I love it, I’ll try to remember to post a picture. So glad I found you just now!

    • Claire Jefford
      | 15 March 2019

      Wow, sounds very interesting! Send me a photo when it’s done and we may share it to our Instagram story. Cheers for sharing, I’m glad you found me too! 🙂

  • Jackson
    | 26 June 2019

    I love your review on hale navy Claire! I’m debating on this color as I’m choosing one for my theatre room in the basement (with minimal natural lighting). Do you think it’s a reasonable option? I’m also looking at Old Navy by Benjamin Moore and it seems like it’s more blue whereas Hale Navy is more gray. What’s your opinion on these two? Thanks in advance!!

    • Claire Jefford
      | 1 July 2019

      Both colours are beautiful. Choose your other finishes first and if there are no fixed elements like stone or tile, look to your textiles. Then choose the best colour from those. Your project sounds exciting! For inspiration, you can check out a theatre room that I did here in this 3000 square foot basement–> https://clairejefford.com/portfolio/gallery/second-line/

  • Janice Shackelton
    | 27 October 2019

    We are building our retirement home where our cottage once stood. We have a great room/kitchen/dining (one large room). Lower kitchen cupboards and island in hale navy (no uppers). We are trying to maintain the cottage feel.
    I am looking at painting the walls in either BM Manchester Tan or BM Stone House. We have west/southwest windows in the great room WITH a covered deck that does block most direct sunlight.
    Love navy and beige/tan colour combinations in anything…. clothing to decorating😀
    Which paint colour would you suggest for walls?

    • Claire Jefford
      | 31 October 2019

      Hi Janice. Personally I prefer the Manchester Tan if we are looking at those two colours. But that is my preference, so there is not necessarily a right or wrong as long as the paint colour works with other finishes in your home.

  • Tania
    | 26 November 2019

    I have one wall in my dining room painted Hale Navy. I am now re-doing my kitchen and my lower cabinets (some on one side) will be Hale Navy. What colour White to paint the other cabinets?? I like white white, not so much creamy — maybe for the walls.

    And what colour would you recommend for the kitchen and dining room walls?

    • Claire Jefford
      | 9 December 2019

      Hi Tania, take a look at Chantilly Lace or White Diamond – the latter has a blue undertone. Look at possible paint colours with your counters and other fixed elements in the room. You can check out my Essential Colour Guide for more colour pairings to put with Hale Navy. Link here –> https://clairejefford.com/product/hale-navy/

  • Austin Collins
    | 19 December 2019

    We have just painted a big majority of our living room chantilly lace and stuck with same color for trim.
    Our half bath or powder room I have done the tile flooring in this tile which has an almost black/charcoal:
    https://tilesinspired.com/collections/decorative-pattern-tiles/products/remix

    Then I am doing one wall full floor to ceiling of this charcoal 2.5×10 tile in herringbone (this is the wall behind the toilet and vanity,mirror etc.)
    https://tilesinspired.com/products/manhattan-charcoal

    I was going to leave the walls chantilly lace (may be a safe option) but originally I wanted to go BOLD in this powder room and do all the walls dark.

    What do you think of Hale Navy for the remaining 2.5 walls and ceiling? Or do you suggest any other Benjamin Moore dark charcoal/navy colors you have used before?
    Not sure it makes sense to “paint match” the herringbone tile but wasn’t sure which direction to go.
    Also would you leave the trim chantilly lace? Or what is suggested since all walls are dark? Dark trim?

    Vanity will be a walnut or white oak with white quartz sink, brass mirror and pendant lights from ceiling.

    Thank you for your blog and inspiration!

    • Claire Jefford
      | 4 January 2020

      Hello Austin, thanks for reading my blog! This question is very in depth, therefore I would recommend contacting my good friend and True Colour Expert Maria Killam who does online colour consulting. She will have you send images of your home and links to those items you have mentioned in your comment and can take you through her process in order to choose the best colour for your project. Here is her link –> https://www.mariakillam.com/edesign-sales-page/

  • Betty
    | 12 April 2020

    Why do your recommendations for Hale Navy (shutters) not include Navajo White (siding) as a good combination (though Navajo White has yellow undertones, they are not as prominent on the exterior as on the interior). Is this combination not a good fit (i.e., one that would not pop like the other whites you mentioned)? I would be immensely interested in your opinion. Thank you.

    • Claire Jefford
      | 23 April 2020

      Navajo White looks like it would work lovely as well! I can’t mention every white that would work with Hale Navy or I would never get to the end of the video. 😉 That’s why I list a few and not to overwhelm.

  • Anne
    | 30 April 2020

    Thank you for your great info on color combinations. I especially appreciated seeing the example of your living room, a relatively small space, with a bold dark color– so often it’s hard to get inspiration when all the examples are million dollar homes. We’re thinking of painting our small home office a dark blue/gray. I think it may work because we have a lot of art covering the walls, so hopefully won’t be too overwhelming, also the light from the windows is super bright– reflected off the house next door. On the other hand, we have a lot of dark furniture and a black rug. Most of the photos I see with this style have a wood floor and lighter furniture. I’d love your opinion if you have time. https://imgur.com/a/WaZ307G

    • Claire Jefford
      | 5 May 2020

      Hey Anne, I say go for it! Especially since you can balance light and dark tones with your ceiling paint (typically white) and any drapery and an area rug. These can all be complimentary to the dark colour, but create contrast to mix things up.

  • Bernice
    | 11 May 2020

    Any suggestion on which metal trim is best with Hale Navy? I want to paint all my interior doors with Hale Navy and I can’t decide on which metal color for door knobs. All my bathroom hardwares are chrome, so I’m thinking polished chrome (my house was build 1950s). But I also like satin nickel & Hale Navy combo, as well as the look of gold/brass with Hale Navy.

    • Claire Jefford
      | 12 May 2020

      Hey Bernice. We have done brushed nickel in the past with Hale Navy cabinetry and for my sister’s renovation she would like to use a rose gold with Van Deusen Blue -another beautiful blue by BM. I especially love the gold because I think it looks fabulous with the dark blue. Chrome could work too, as it’s a classic. No right or wrong, just look at your overall design style and the look you are trying to achieve.

  • James
    | 4 June 2020

    Thank you so much for this information! I have a house that is red brick and white siding. I plan on painting the shutters hale navy, and I am trying to decide on a yellow front door paint color. I don’t want anything to bright, and color I am thinking of is Benjamin Moore Hawthorne Yellow. https://www.benjaminmoore.com/en-us/color-overview/find-your-color/color/HC-4/hawthorne-yellow?color=HC-4

    What do you think of this combination?

    Do you have other suggestions?

    I live about 1 3/4 hours away from you and may be looking for some home design work once it is safe.

    Thanks!

  • James
    | 4 June 2020

    I really like the chairs in the top photo! Where can I find them?

    • Claire Jefford
      | 7 June 2020

      Hi James. If you are referring to the accent chairs in the living room with the Hale Navy wall behind them, they are custom.

      • Claire Jefford
        | 7 June 2020

        Hi James. I love that colour combination and think it would look lovely with how you are describing your home.

  • Sabi
    | 9 June 2020

    I love navy blue and was looking for a blue to paint my bathroom vanity cabinets. I saw the swatch on the BM website and even though I loved the colour, I was afraid it would be too dark. After reading your post and seeing some examples of it used in different rooms, I am almost sold on using this colour. I absolutely love the way it looks matched with the certain paint colours you’ve suggested. Its gorgeous!! I currently have cloud white on my walls and I’m almost tempted to re paint them with white dove or simply white because I love the way they complement each other.
    I love your blog and your videos, they are very helpful and informative. You’ve got a new subscriber.

    • Claire Jefford
      | 10 June 2020

      This is so great to hear!! Thanks so much for sharing Sabi. I’m confident you will LOVE the Hale Navy!

  • Cindy
    | 29 June 2020

    I’m considering Hale Navy for a library. The room has a brick fireplace. Do you think the blue will work with the brick?

    • Claire Jefford
      | 30 June 2020

      Hi Cindy. Dark Blue and a red brick can look fabulous together. But because brick is no longer a ‘standard’ colour and I can’t see your space specifically, then it’s impossible to say if it will work in your case. Please grab my Free Download on Five Steps to Choosing the Right Paint Colour the First Time, that should help –> https://clairejefford.com/ccd-freebies/

  • Courtenay
    | 6 July 2020

    Hi! I was so happy to find your YouTube review of Hale Navy as I just selected it for the exterior of my home. Thank you! I am using Chantilly Lace for the trim and would like to use a pale pink on the front door. I tried First Light but it is reading as white due to the amount of light on the door. Do you recommend any other blush, with just a hint more of color, that would compliment the Hale Navy? I have tried several other pinks and just can’t get it right. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. I love your blog; you are so knowledgable and warm 🙂 Thank you! Courtenay

    • Claire Jefford
      | 7 July 2020

      Hi Courtnenay and thanks so much for your kind words! Yes, First Light is likely looking washed out because when you apply a paint colour outdoors, it goes much lighter with the sun. You can try Odessa Pink HC-59 by BM or simply go into the paint store and view samples that are darker than First Light, but have a similar tone if that’s they type of blush you are looking for. Be sure to look at them in daylight to get a better read on how they will look and to check them with Hale Navy. But you should be fine because it’s such a pretty colour combination! Good luck!

  • Courtenay
    | 8 July 2020

    Thank you so much for your response; I appreciate it! I will pick up some Odessa Pink to try today. Stay safe. Courtenay

  • Chuck Matthews
    | 8 July 2020

    Thanks Claire, I am venturing to have a navy blue paint as my exterior brick paint on my Northeast facing home. I want a rich dark blue that is dark enough to not be tacky/gaudy but light enough to make the black windows pop and grey/slate colored roof pop. My trim is a pale grey stone with dark wood accents over the black windows. I fear Hale Navy will be too dark against the black windows facing north..thoughts on Van Deusen blue? Is there another blue you would recommend? Thanks Much!

    • Claire Jefford
      | 12 July 2020

      Hi Chuck. Both of the blues you mention are lovely, Van Deusen is slightly less dark. Remember that as you are painting the exterior, any colour you choose will look much lighter than it would on the interior of a home.

  • Amanda
    | 9 July 2020

    We were looking for an accent wall color for our office and came across your review. Absolutely fell in love with the Hale Navy color! And I plan on adding some gold accents in it! Question, what kind of the paint finish should we use considering it’s a wall in the office? (Matte, glossy, etc) Thank you!

    • Claire Jefford
      | 10 July 2020

      Hi Amanda. Hale Navy is so wonderful, isn’t it? In terms of a paint finish, the most common for wall cololurs has historically been the ‘egg shell’ option. However, we find that lately more people tend to like the ‘matte’ look. Matte has typically been used mainly for ceilings. It has less of sheen and didn’t have a great reputation for being easy to wipe down and clean. But I know that they have come a long way since then, which is partially why we are seeing it more. Speak with your local paint store when ordering your paint to discuss with them and to get their recommendations. All the best with your project!

  • Amanda
    | 10 July 2020

    Wonderful! Thanks so much for your suggestions Claire!

  • Jan
    | 2 October 2020

    I’m using Hale Navy to update some furniture in an otherwise very neutral room. I’d also like to add a touch of red paint on the far side of the living area. What shade of red would you suggest pairing with Hale Navy?

    • Claire Jefford
      | 4 October 2020

      Hi Jan. Before you use a random red colour to paint your wall, choose a fabric for a pillow or drapery, or find an area rug that you want to use in the space that has a red tone. Then colour match that tone with a paint colour. This way you can be confident that colour will work as opposed to choosing a random red.

Post A Comment

57 − = 51

What Colour Palette Should
You Use in Your Space?
Coastal? Moody? Eclectic? What's your palette?
TAKE THE QUIZ >
Give it a try! We'll send you a palette AND shopping suggestions.
Noun X 2500110
ON SALE NOW FOR A
LIMITED TIME:

 All 20 Benjamin Moore Colours in this Ultimate Collection
 

USE CODE: BM100
TO SAVE $100 AT CHECKOUT!

I want this collection now!
close-link

Pin It on Pinterest