Sherwin Williams Agreeable Gray Colour Review

Sherwin Williams Agreeable Gray Colour Review

Is This The Most Popular Neutral?

Agreeable Gray, SW 7029, by Sherwin Williams is one of the most popular neutral colours out there now for Interior Design and Decor.

While I haven’t had a project professionally photographed with this paint colour yet, I have specified it a fair amount to home owners in my local area of Burlington and Oakville Ontario.

Explore this Colour More!

In this video of Agreeable Gray by Sherwin Williams, and as always, in my colour review videos I share:

  • The undertone of my featured colour
  • Colour Comparisons in order to easily ‘SEE’ the different colour tones
  • Best White paints to pair for the trim & ceilings
  • Beautiful Colour Combinations to inspire you for your next decorating project

If you’d like all of this information and more at the ready I am now offering an Agreeable Gray paint colour guide.

Comment below if you’ve used this colour and if you’ve had a space professionally photographed where you have used Sherwin Williams Agreeable Gray.  Email me the image and your details & I may feature you in a future vlog!  Send to info@clairejefford.com

For future colour videos I’d like to feature inspiring spaces by talented designers. Seeing a colour in a space and how it varies with lighting, plus the many ways that it can be paired with other fabulous textures and finishes, is always fascinating to me. I know I’m not alone!

Colour Comparisons

In this colour comparison below, you can easily see the difference between the colours and their undertones.  Fleur de Sel, the top colour, is a blue-green gray; Agreeable Gray in the centre is a Green Gray and Wool Skein is a Green Beige.

Fleur de Sel SW 7666 & Wool Skein SW 6148

Best Whites to Pair with Agreeable Gray

Of course there are many more whites that would work wonderfully with this colour, but I’ve pulled 3 of my favourites from Sherwin Williams.

Pure White SW 7005

Dover White SW 6385

Alabaster SW 7008

Fabulous Colour Combinations with Agreeable Gray

All colours paired here with Agreeable Gray are also from Sherwin Williams.

Anew Gray SW 7030

Fawn Brindle SW 7640

Sea Salt SW 6204

Agreeable Gray And Sea Salt

What a gorgeous palette these four colours make.

How Can I Help?

You will find much of the information on Agreeable Gray plus more stunning colour combinations in my Agreeable Gray Essential Colour Guide.

I now have over 30 colours to choose from in my Essential Colour Guide library. See the entire collection here.

Essential Colour Guide Graphic

My good friend Maria Killam designed this gorgeous living room that is painted Agreeable Gray by Sherwin Williams. How fabulous does it look with the blues and yellow accents?!

Room design by Maria Killam.

Speaking of Maria Killam, do you love my large painted colour boards and want your own set?

Click here to shop the large colour boards now!

// DISCLOSURE: Thank you for trusting me with my truthful and reliable opinion on any future purchase you may make. I always disclose affiliate or sponsored information when it is the case. If you purchase Maria’s boards, I will earn a small commission from the sale. This doesn’t affect you in any way, the price remains the same regardless.  Thank you for supporting me and entrusting me to be your go-to for all things Colour and Interior Design!

Remember, it only takes one mistake to take your home decorating project from divine to disaster. Don’t let the paint be what stresses you out!

Take my Colour Quiz to see which Colour Palette best suits your style. 

Paint Colour Quiz 2

(19) Comments
  • Rebecca Rowland
    | 23 March 2019

    I just specified it for a while house project, so hopefully I’ll have a few pictures for you soon!

    • Claire Jefford
      | 23 March 2019

      That’s fabulous Rebecca, I look forward to seeing it!

  • Maria
    | 26 May 2019

    I have agreeable gray in my living room. At first I thought it was a huge mistake as my room has a lot of light and the color was lighter than I had hoped. In the end, both my husband and I live the color. It’s a neutral color that is also calming. I highly recommend!!

    • Claire Jefford
      | 4 June 2019

      Hey Maria, that’s so great to hear. Thanks for sharing!

  • Laurie
    | 7 September 2019

    If I have Agreeable Gray paint on walls and white kitchen cabinets, do think Pure White or Alabaster trim and pantry door color would pair better? Thank you.

  • Myra Ephross
    | 21 November 2019

    I have completed a home renovation and used Agreeable Gray for the living areas, some of which open to a large kitchen kitchen. In the breakfast room I used Dovetail. It pickups up the undertones in the Agreeable Beautifully, All the the trim and kitchen cabinets are Benjamin Moore White Dove and the Island is Benjamin Moore Iron Mountain which in the kitchen area pulls the warm undertones. I always test paint colors because of the variables in lighting and this combination has turned out beautifully. Note: Benjamin Moore paint can not always be matched well by SW, I always purchase paint from the original source.
    Thank you for your Blog, They are well thought out and helpful when I am looking for color information and inspiration for my client projects.

    • Claire Jefford
      | 23 December 2019

      Myra, thank you so much for sharing details of your project. I am happy that my blog has helped you! I also 100% agree about what you said about colour matching. I ALWAYS recommended clients go to the original source for paint and not try to colour match. Although it can be done, for the sake of saving some money, the risk is not worth it in my opinion.

  • Leah
    | 23 November 2019

    Agreeable gray has a purple undertone in my north facing room. I hate it.

    • Claire Jefford
      | 23 December 2019

      Sorry to hear that you don’t like the colour you painted your room. This is the very reason why I recommend painting a large sample board and moving around the room at different times of the day before finalizing a decision on paint. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

  • Christyn
    | 3 March 2020

    I use Agreeable Gray in all of our rental properties, it keeps things simple to use the same color. We are now getting ready to redo a flip house and I had planned on using Agreeable Gray throughout but need the right color of white for baseboards, crown molding, built in book cases and kitchen cabinets. Someone suggested Edgecomb Gray but I’m not sure if it would be the best gray a flip project. Would you suggest painting the three bedrooms and two bathrooms different colors or keeping things simple? Is pure white TOO white for cabinets and trim?

    • Claire Jefford
      | 9 March 2020

      Edgecomb gray is not white and while I love it, I don’t think I would recommend it for trim on a flip either. I provide 3 white trim suggestions in this post. I also have my Essential Colour guides which includes 10 more colours you can pair with Agreeable Gray. You may find that helpful. Here is a link to see all colours available -> https://clairejefford.com/product-category/essential-colour-guides/

  • Danieal
    | 31 March 2020

    I used Agreeable Gray in my livingroom, dining room, and playroom. My kitchen is also agreeable gray, but I’m changing the wall color and using extra white on the uppers and naval on the lowers with butcher block counters. I can’t wait to see the end results!

    • Claire Jefford
      | 1 April 2020

      Sounds exciting Danieal! Thanks for sharing this with us!

  • Janis
    | 20 April 2020

    We used Agreeable gray throughout, but it is reading a little too pale blue. Any suggestions for balancing the color. We can’t repaint.

    • Claire Jefford
      | 23 April 2020

      Hi Janis. Agreeable Gray is a Green Gray, so it’s odd that it’s looking blue in the space. I wonder if you had it colour matched elsewhere and not used Sherwin Williams paint?

  • Tammy
    | 30 May 2020

    Hello! I painted my living room SW Napery color. Wondering if Agreeable Grey or Dover White would look good for window trim
    Thank you!

    • Claire Jefford
      | 7 June 2020

      Hi Tammy. I am not familiar with Napery by Sherwin Williams, I have never used it before. Grab my free download on How To Choose the Right Paint Colour and look at those 5 tips to see how to check colours to be sure –> https://clairejefford.com/ccd-freebies/

Post A Comment

What Colour Palette Should
You Use in Your Space?
Coastal? Moody? Eclectic? What's your palette?
TAKE THE QUIZ >
Give it a try! We'll send you a palette AND shopping suggestions.
Noun X 2500110

Pin It on Pinterest

Cart Item Removed. Undo
  • No products in the cart.